It happened at night. Without a warning or a heads-up our apartment was broken into. Somehow they got on the outer balcony, which is not covered, so my guess is, they must have somehow dropped onto our building. Probably leaving some higher point hidden in the night sky, they leapt down and landed on the balcony, while we were sleeping, and then entered the adjacent kitchen, potentially using the drains. Now assembled into a single unit ignored by our snoring sounds, no time was lost and danger spread into into the hallway without, it seems, even opening the kitchen door. One by one, as by mastermind planning, every room was invaded, the living room, the children’s room.

I woke up. It was pitch-black and I hadn’t heard anything. But something, or someone, had roused me and there I was, drowsily opening the bedroom door. I set out in semi-somnabulism, directing my steps towards the kitchen to get some water…

…and water is what we got, because with my next step I discovered that our whole apartment had been inundated during heavy rain. I knew then, the Water-Wars had returned.